Pritzker Prize 2011 Poll

Pritzker Prize 2011 Poll: "On the right side of this blog I've inserted a poll for the 2011 Pritzker Architecture Prize, which should be awarded around the end of March (I'll leave the poll up as long as possible, yet as of writing this I don't the exact date of the award). Based on my own picks, past polls, and gossip at places like Archinect I've narrowed down the poll to twelve choices (plus 'other'), in alphabetical order:

- Shigeru Ban

- Santiago Calatrava

- David Chipperfield

- Charles Correa

- Elizabeth Diller and Ricardo Scofidio

- Peter Eisenman

- Steven Holl

- Bjarke Ingels

- Toyo Ito

- Eduardo Souto de Moura

- Ben Van Berkel

- Tod Williams and Billie Tsien
For reference, this year's jury is made up of:

- Lord Peter Palumbo (Chair)

- Alejandro Aravena

- Carlos Jimenez

- Glenn Murcutt

- Juhani Pallasmaa

- Renzo Piano

- Karen Stein

- Martha Thorne (Executive Director)
And here is the list of past winners:

1979 - Philip Johnson of the United States

1980 - Luis Barragán of Mexico

1981 - James Stirling of Great Britain

1982 - Kevin Roche of the United States

1983 - Ieoh Ming Pei of the United States

1984 - Richard Meier of the United States

1985 - Hans Hollein of Austria

1986 - Gottfried Boehm of Germany

1987 - Kenzo Tange of Japan

1988 - Gordon Bunshaft of the United States / Oscar Niemeyer of Brazil

1989 - Frank O. Gehry of the United States

1990 - Aldo Rossi of Italy

1991 - Robert Venturi of the United States

1992 - Alvaro Siza of Portugal

1993 - Fumihiko Maki of Japan

1994 - Christian de Portzamparc of France

1995 - Tadao Ando of Japan

1996 - Rafael Moneo of Spain

1997 - Sverre Fehn of Norway

1998 - Renzo Piano of Italy

1999 - Sir Norman Foster of the United Kingdom

2000 - Rem Koolhaas of The Netherlands

2001 - Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron of Switzerland

2002 - Glenn Murcutt of Australia

2003 - Jørn Utzon of Denmark

2004 - Zaha Hadid of the United Kingdom

2005 - Thom Mayne of the United States

2006 - Paulo Mendes da Rocha of Brazil

2007 - Richard Rogers of the United Kingdom

2008 - Jean Nouvel of France

2009 - Peter Zumthor of Switzerland

2010 - Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa of Japan
So VOTE and check back here when the Pritzer Prize is announced to see if the readers of this blog successfully chose this year's winner. If your vote is 'other,' feel free to add who as a comment below.

via: a daily dose of architecture


Post a Comment